School of Film & Television

The School of Film & Television at Falmouth is one of the very best in the UK. Our students' work is award winning, we enjoy some of the highest student satisfaction levels of any film school (95% in 2014) and we have incredible graduate employability in our sector.

We were one of the first national centres of excellence to be accredited by Creative Skillset. This kite mark of quality is endorsed by industry professionals, and is only awarded to the best courses in the UK where the curriculum connects creative thinking with the latest technology and strong links with the film and television industries.

The School combines the disciplines of film, television, animation and visual effects in a powerful, complementary mix of creativity, scholarship and entrepreneurship. You'll learn by doing, and be continually challenged through theoretical study and critical analysis to ensure that you are thinking, writing and making in an original, relevant and contemporary way. The School of Film & Television is about new ways of telling stories and engaging audiences.

Our staff

Students are supported by an excellent staff of scholars and practitioner-academics who are all active in their respective fields, alongside a first-class technical team.

You'll get the opportunity to meet world-class talent through frequent masterclasses, a vibrant visiting speaker programme and our professorial lecture series. You'll be working with some of the best film and television makers in the world - including directors, producers, screenwriters, animators, scholars, effects supervisors, critics and sound designers. Our Honorary Fellows include Toby Haynes (Director: Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, Sherlock, Doctor Who) and Mary Burke (Producer, Warp Films), while recent speakers have included Paul Franklin (VFX Supervisor: Interstellar), Jordan Vogt-Roberts (Director: The Kings of Summer), Chris Cantwell (Showrunner, AMC) and Guy Heeley (Producer: Locke).

The team will also support you in building your own professional network through collaborative projects, study visits, placements, internships and live industry briefs through our in-house production company.

Our outcomes

Our students do great things – they win prestigious awards, have their work screened at international festivals, and go on to work for the major broadcasters BBC, ITV and Channel 4, network television including HBO, studios including Disney, Universal and Aardman, and leading indies such as Working Title, Betty, Freemantle, Warp Films, Twofour and Spider Eye.