Animation, Film & TV Students Sweep RTS Awards

15 April 2019

students win RTS award
web story - RTS award wins 2019
Every Six Hours Director Thomas Murphy with Assistant Producer Amy Gillies
Type: Text
Category: Student stories

School of Film & Television students have had their best ever haul of winners at the 2019 Royal Television Society (RTS) Devon and Cornwall Student Awards!

With eleven nominations, the students and graduates came away with nine winners including the top awards for Best Drama, Best Comedy/Entertainment, Best Factual and Best Animated film.

Christopher Morris, Director of the School of Film & Television, said:

What was especially pleasing and a great compliment to our excellent technical team, facilities and kit, were the awards picked up for achievement in craft and technical skills. Our students took Best Sound, Best Camera work, Best Production Design and Best Editing. This has been an outstanding achievement.

"The live action short film, Every Six Hours won the Best Drama category with a suspenseful story about refugees trapped in a shipping container, the winning animated film Towels, tells a cautionary (and timely) tale about the consequences of isolation, Martyn won Best Factual with a highly personal and moving account of childhood and fatherhood, and Best Comedy went to Mains Away for a film that is both outrageous and hilarious."

The south west winners will now go forward to be judged for the RTS grand final at the BFI Southbank in London on Friday 28 June 2019.

The winners:

Best Comedy & Entertainment - Mains Away
Director: Jude Lilley
Producer: Lauren Carter
Cinematography: Alex Styles
Sound: Ned Spear
Editing: Liris Maki

Best Animation - Towels
Director: Prawta Annez
Producer: Camilla Kjaernet
Design: Prawta Annez, Eric Lin, Rahkay Miller
Sound: Sam Carson, Amid Ojubanire, Martin Hann
Post Production: Camilla Kjaernet
Second and third year students from BA(Hons) Animation & Visual Effects 

Best Drama - Every Six Hours
Producer: Peter Bruteig Henriksen
Director: Thomas Murphy
Director of Photography: Daniel Simpkins
Editor: Angus Breton

Best Factual - Martyn
Director: Christopher Chambers-Smith
Producer: Claire Sarsfield
Director of Photography: Jordan Hughes
Editor: Jake Wise

Best Production Design - Dagon
Production Designer: Oliver Thorn

Best Sound "J"
Sound Designer: Celine Davies

Best Camera – Alligated
DOP - Katy Greenwell

You might also like