Sandra Blow Scholarship


  • Courses Specific? MA Fine Art: Contemporary Practice
  • Other Criteria? Final year students only


The Sandra Blow Scholarship is an award for MA Fine Art: Contemporary Practice students. The scholarship has been bestowed on Falmouth University from the legacy of Sandra Blow, the English painter, who lived in St Ives from 1994 until her death in 2006. The scholarship will be available each academic year from 2008 to 2012.


The end of an MA course is a crucial juncture in the career of a new artist, and the award may be of huge assistance to graduates in their first few months of their career, for example by paying for studio space.

Value of the award

£5,000 per year, to be shared between a maximum of three students.


The scholarship will be awarded at the end of the course. The winners will be announced after degree results have been confirmed.


The scholarship will be awarded to the student or students who, in the opinion of the judging panel, have made the most progress during the MA course, and have made a significant accomplishment on the course. Students' final exhibitions will be considered by the judges in order to decide upon the winners.

Judging panel

The judging panel will consist of: the Head of the Department of Art, the course leader of MA Fine Art: Contemporary Practice, and an external examiner.

Follow up

Winners of The Sandra Blow Scholarship are required to write a letter of thanks to the trustees outlining how they intend to use the money and how it will help their career. Winners may also be asked to participate in a Falmouth University publicity event.